Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, April 28, 2019

Share This Article:

Voters to face full ballot in November; Early voting begins Tuesday

Voters to face full ballot in November; Early voting begins Tuesday

Early voting for the November 4 general election begins on October 21 and runs through October 28. Voters in Lafourche Parish can vote on any of those days, except Sunday, at the parish Clerk of Court’s office in Galliano or Thibodaux. Voting hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Voters will cast ballots on a number of races from federal offices down to local ones. Incumbent U.S. Senator Mary Landrieu, a Democrat, is facing a strong challenger from U.S Representative Bill Cassidy, a Republican physician from Baton Rouge. Also garnering a share of attention is Tea Party favorite retired Colonel Rob Maness, also a Republican. Others on the ballot for U.S. Senate include Wayne Ables, Thomas Clements, Brannon McMorris, Vallian Senegal and William Waymire, Jr.

Voters in the southern portion of the parish will vote in the election for their representative in the First Congressional District. Incumbent Representative Steve Scalise, a Republican from Metairie, is being challenged by Lee Dugas, “Vinny” Mendoza and Jeff Sanford.

Voters in the central and northern portions of the parish will help to choose the representative from the Sixth Congressional District. The seat is currently held by Bill Cassidy, who is vacating it to challenge Mary Landrieu for the U.S. Senate seat. Twelve candidates have qualified for the seat including former Governor Edwin Edwards, a Democrat. Other major contenders include State Senator Dan Claitor, a Republican from Baton Rouge, Garrett Graves, a Republican and former head of Governor Bobby Jindal’s coastal protection division, Lenar Whitney, a Republican from Houma and a member of the Terrebonne Parish Council and Paul Dietzel, II, a Republican from Baton Rouge. Others seeking the seat include Bob Bell, Norm Clark, Rufus Craig, Jr., Richard Lieberman, Craig McCullough, Trey Thomas and Peter Williams.

Voters parishwide will elect a new judge to serve in the 17th Judicial District Court, Division B seat, currently held by soon to be retiring Judge Jerome Barbera, III. Seeking the seat are John J. Erny, III, a Republican, Anthony “Tony” Lewis, a Democrat and Steve Miller, a Republican.

Parish voters will also be choosing a new assessor after the untimely passing of longtime assessor Michael Martin. Seeking the post are Jonathan “Jo Jo” Cheramie, a Republican, Jerome “Dee” Richard, no party and Wendy Thibodeaux, no party.

Voters in various school board districts will also choose members for new terms. In District Seven Gary Foret will face off against Myra Zeringue Luft and in District 15, Calvin Duet will meet Lawrence Mounic.

In the contest for Justice of the Peace, 3rd Court, Bennett Arceneaux will meet Troy Templet and in the race for Constable of the 3rd Justice of the Peace Court, Marvin Allemand will meet Johnny Detillier.

In the contest for Constable of the 4th Justice of the Peace Court, Carl Doucet will square off against Martin Wade.

For more information on these races as well as other election information, visit