Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Share This Article:

Voters elect new port commission member, renew tax

Voters elect new port commission member, renew tax

Tenth Ward voters approved a tax renewal for Special Education District No. 1 and elected Rodney Gisclair, Sr., R- Cut Off, to the Greater Lafourche Port Commission's Division D seat in a tight race in Saturday's runoff elections.

The Lafourche Parish Council also has a new member as James Honore Bourgeois, R-Raceland, won the District 5 council seat.

The tax renewal of 4.98 mills for Special Education District is expected to bring in $3.4 million that will go toward constructing, improving, maintaining or operating the district's facilities.

The tax renewal was supported by 1,811 (81 percent) with 441 (19 percent) who voted against it. Complete, but unofficial results list the turnout at about 19.1 percent.

The tax goes into effect next year and expires in 2026.

In a tight race for the Port Commission seat, Gisclair received 1,191 votes, or 51 percent, to Lafont’s 1,132 votes, or 49 percent. Turnout was about 19.6 percent.

In the District 5 council race, Bourgeois received 153 votes, or 57 percent. Fellow Raceland resident Holly "Scooter" LeBoeuf, no party, received 129 votes, or about 43 percent.

Turnout was about 5.5 percent.

District 5 includes Bayou Blue, part of Raceland and the western edge of Pointe-aux-Chenes.