Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Share This Article:

Voter registration for March 5 election ends Wednesday

Voter registration for March 5 election ends Wednesday

The last day to register to vote in the March 5 Presidential Preference Primary and Municipal Primary is Wednesday, February 3.

On the ballot will be the Democratic and Republican presidential nominee.

Tenth Ward voters will also choose a new member to serve on the Greater Lafourche Port Commission board, a seat vacated last fall by Donald Vizier due to health reasons.

Port Commissioners are elected to six-year terms and serve the community of the Tenth Ward at large. The Tenth Ward is comprised of the area of Lafourche Parish south of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway to the Gulf of Mexico.
Vizier served for 26 years as the member for Seat D, having been elected for five terms as Port Commissioner before his resignation last September.

Ted Savoie has been serving as the interim commissioner until the election on March 5.

Voters in Lafourche Parish Council District 5 will also elect a new councilman.

John Arnold, R-Gray, the man who held the seat through the end of 2015, withdrew recently from the race for re-election.

Voters there will decide between Mark Atzenhoffer, James Honore’ Bourgeois, and Holly “Scooter” LeBouef.

Early voting for the election will begin February 20 and run through February 27.