Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Share This Article:

Three qualify for port commission seat

Three qualify for port commission seat

With the qualifying period completed as of Friday, three candidates signed up to fill the Greater Lafourche Port Commission Seat “D” position on the March 5 ballot.

The slot became open when longtime commissioner Donald Vizier resigned earlier this year.

According to the Secretary of State’s website, qualifying for the seat were Rodney Gisclair, Sr., R-Cut Off, Jimmy “T-Jim” Lafont, R-Cut Off, and Vhores “T-Voe” Trosclair, R-Galliano.

Only registered voters in the 10th Ward of the parish are eligible to vote in this contest.

Five candidates qualified Friday for the Lafourche Parish Council District 5 seat. On that ballot will be John Arnold, R-Gray, Mark Atzenhoffer, no party-Bayou Blue, Holly “Scooter” LeBouef, no party-Raceland, James Honore’ Bourgeois, R-Raceland, and Albert Louis Martin, Jr., no party-Bayou Blue.

Only registered voters within the Council District 5 area are eligible to vote for one of these candidates.
Also on the March ballot are contests for the Democratic and Republican nominations for President of the United

States as well as various state and local party elections.