Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Share This Article:

Recap of the 2013 Lafourche Pride Awards

Recap of the 2013 Lafourche Pride Awards

Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office employees and local citizens were honored for feats of bravery, outstanding work, and generosity at the 2013 Lafourche Pride Awards Banquet held on Saturday, August 10 in Thibodaux. This marked the 20th year of the awards program which is sponsored and organized by the Lafourche Deputies Association with the financial help and support of member deputies and local businesses. Sheriff Craig Webre utilizes this annual event to publicly honor employees and civilians who perform commendable work, save someone’s life, or perform their job in a distinguished and commendable manner. In all, a total of 122 individuals, including 90 LPSO deputies and 8 retirees, were honored.


The highlight of the annual program is the awarding of the “Sheriff’s Star” to an outstanding employee as selected by Sheriff Webre. This year’s recipient was Rebecca Chabert, a 29-year veteran of the Sheriff’s Office who works as the clerk at the South Lafourche Sub-station. Chabert began working with the Sheriff’s Office in 1984 as a Communications Officer. She also held the position of Tax Collector before becoming a clerk. Her duties at the South Lafourche office include collecting property tax payments, fees, and fines among many other typical clerical duties. Sheriff Webre cited her dedication to the job and nearly three decades of dedicated service as some of the reasons Chabert received this honor.


Three employees were also honored with Distinguished Service medals. Pamela Guedry was honored for her achievements during her six years with the Sheriff’s Office in working as the Coordinator for The P.A.C.T. Place Supervised Visitation and Exchange Center. Lieutenant Lafate Day was honored for his years of service overseeing the volunteers for the Sheriff’s Office, including the Reserve Division, Explorer POST 323 and the V.I.P Program, as well as the national and state recognition he has received. Sheriff Webre’s executive assistant, Lieutenant Rebecca Hebert, was also honored for her many years of service as well as her devotion to her fellow employees through serving on the Louisiana Sheriff’s Pension Board, being actively involved in the Lafourche Deputies Association, and her work at The P.A.C.T. Place.


A number of civilians were also honored at the ceremony. Albert Nazio and Mickey Adams, both of Larose, received Lifesaving Awards assisting an elderly woman escape a house fire through her bedroom window in May. Humanitarian Awards were presented to Kristy Uzee for generous donations she made to The P.A.C.T. Place this year, as well as a group of wrestlers and wrestling organizers who donate their time and efforts for the annual “Carnage for a Cure” event which helps raise money for Relay for Life.


One of the most unique moments of the evening involved the largest group honored on Saturday night. Forty-five (45) individuals, including employees of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office and Lafourche Parish District Attorney’s Office, were commended for their roles which helped lead to the conviction of Nicholas Dalby, who was sentenced to 18 years in prison in December for crimes including domestic violence. The victim of Dalby’s crimes, Jessica Delaune, also received a Certificate of Commendation for her assistance throughout the case as well, and that she has now become a volunteer at The P.A.C.T. Place.


Narcotics agents and from multiple law enforcement agencies were recognized for their combined efforts in the investigation of a methamphetamine distribution ring in Southeast Louisiana. Lafourche Parish Drug Task Force Supervisor Lieutenant John Champagne, Sgt. Adam Dufrene, Sgt. Ron Methvin, and Agents Justin Leonard, Kate Stegall and Derek Champagne were honored with Certificates of Commendation along with Captain Darryl Stewart and Agent Rusty Hornsby of the Terrebonne Narcotics Task Force. Also recognized for their work in the investigation were Master Trooper Craig Rhodes and Sergeant Brett Lang of the Louisiana State Police, as well as members of “DEA Group 31” including Lieutenant Josh Champagne of the Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office, Lieutenant Shelly Liner of the Terrebonne Parish Sheriff’s Office, and Group Supervisor Kevin Adams.

Certificates of Commendation were also presented to K-9 Section Supervisor Sergeant Trent Duplantis and Detective Robert Mason for being recognized as “experts” in the 17th Judicial District. Sgt. Duplantis was recognized as an expert in the field of K-9, while Detective Mason was recognized as an expert in two areas, including fingerprint analysis and collection as well as cell phone analysis and plotting. Another K-9 Deputy, Lance LeBlanc, and his partner “Rico” were commended for their collective effort in the apprehension of an armed robbery suspect on U.S. Highway 90 in December 2012.


Eight former LPSO employees who retired in the past year were also recognized for their years of service, including Angie Guedry who was honored for 34 years of service having served in several positions including clerk, Captain of the Personnel Division, and most recently in the Seizures and Garnishments Section. Dianna Rousse, who spent her career in the ranks of the Communications Section, was also honored for her 20 years of service to the agency. Other retirees honored served for at least ten years, including Steven Pitts, Kenneth Dolen, Shirley Collins, Linda Bernard, Gary Plaisance and Phil Percle.


Here is a list of other honorees who received Certificates of Commendation:

• Lt. Craig Melancon – his efforts in planning and coordinating the rescue of 103 Brittany Spaniel dogs in July.

• Agent Derek Champagne – 110 arrests in 126 narcotics cases, including the seizure of approximately $290,000 in drugs, cash and assets.

• Sgt. Amy Guillot – her work in helping crime victims obtain reparations.

• Detectives Kevin Johnson and Ben Dempster – their work on solving several shed burglaries and returning several all-terrain vehicles and other property to their original owners.

• Sgt. Todd Prevost, Deputies Clay Blanchard and Glen LeRay, and John Legendre (civilian) – chasing down a burglary suspect in a Thibodaux neighborhood in May.

• Deputies Allen Collins, Scott Hebert and Rodney Morrison – their efforts in solving a January case involving several vehicle burglaries.

• Lt. Jessica Bordelon, Lt. Craig Melancon, Lt. Brett Exnicious and Sgt. John Foote – their swift actions while attending to a suicidal inmate.

• Lt. Andrew Labat, Sgt. Jeremy Doucet, and Deputies Jay Watkins, Stacy Eschete, Joseph Anderson, Stephen Schieffler, Brent Chiasson, and Lashana Cooks – their efforts in responding an armed robbery which occurred at a Bayou Blue residence in January.

• Deputies Lance LeBlanc, Blake Vining, Douglas Duet, Alicson Armant, Denise Boudreaux, Brandon France, Deborah Jeff Cameron Westbrook – actions which led to the confiscation of contraband at the jail.

• Lt. John Champagne, Lt. Mark Adams, Lt. Doug Foreman, Lt. Andrew Labat, CFO Barret Ellender, and Sheriff Craig Webre – their participation in the 2013 Police Unity Tour.

• Members of “D-Shift” at the Detention Center (including Sgt. Toby Harrelson, Sgt. Roland Guillot, Sgt. Craig Denison, Lt. Neil Ledet, and Deputies Patricia Bonnette, Elizabeth Fonseca, Shane Guidry, Joann Denison, Kimberly Johnson, and Tyler Hebert) – teamwork in dealing with separate incidents involving smoke/fire at the jail.