Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Share This Article:

Races to be decided Saturday

Races to be decided Saturday

Voters who didn’t take advantage of early voting will be asked to go to the polls Saturday to decide several local and statewide races, along with four Constitutional Amendments.

A very busy early voting week ended last Saturday.

Below is a rundown of statewide and local candidates, along with the four Amendments that will be appearing on the ballot.

Incumbents are denoted with an asterisk (*), Republicans with an (R), Democrats with a (D), Independents with an (I), and Libertarians with an (L).


All list Baton Rouge addresses unless noted otherwise.

Governor: Ralph Abraham (R); Oscar “Omar” Dantzler, D-Hammond; John Bel Edwards* (D); Gary Landrieu, I-Metairie; Patrick “Live Wire” Landry, R-New Orleans; Eddie Rispone (R).

Lieutenant Governor: Willie Jones, D-New Orleans; William “Billy” Nungesser*, R-Belle Chasse.

Secretary of State: Kyle Ardoin* (R); “Gwen” Collins-Greenup, D-Clinton; Thomas J. Kennedy III, R-Metairie; Amanda “Jennings” Smith, R-Bastrop.

Attorney General: Ike Jackson Jr., D-Plaquemine; Jeff Landry*, R-Broussard.

Treasurer: Derrick Edwards, D-Harvey; Teresa Kenny, no party-New Orleans; John M. Schroder* (R).

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry: Marguerite Green, D-New Orleans; Charlie Greer, D-Natchez; Michael G. “Mike” Strain*, R-Covington; Peter Williams (D); Bradley Zaunbrecher, R-Egan.

Commissioner of Insurance: James J. “Jim” Donelon*, R-Metairie; “Tim” Temple (R).

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education District 3: “Sandy” LeBlanc Holloway*, R-Thibodaux; Janice Perea, R-Houma.

State Senate District 20: Brenda Leroux Babin, D-Houma; Damon J. Baldone, R-Houma; Michael “Big Mike” Fesi, R-Houma; Jerry “Truck” Gisclair, D-Larose; Shane Swan, R-Houma.

State Representative District 54: Reggie P. Bagala, R-Lockport; Ernest Boudreaux, R-Lockport; Donny Lerille, R-Larose.


All list Thibodaux addresses unless noted otherwise.

District Judge 17th Judicial District Court, Division C: Marla Abel (R); Rene C. Gautreaux (I); Todd Joffrion (R).

Sheriff: Craig Jaccuzzo, no party-Houma; Thomas Rodrigue, R-Cut Off; Craig Webre* (R).

Parish President: Archie Chaisson III, R-Lockport; Joseph “Joe” Fertitta (R); Luci Sposito (R).


District 1: Jerry Jones* (D); Burnell Tolbert (D); Jimmie Wilson (no party); Earl Woods Jr. (D).

District 2: William “T-Boo” Adams (R); Niles Riche (R).

District 5: Albert Louis Martin Jr., no party-Houma; James “Jim” Wendell, no party-Houma.

District 6: Spence Cressionie, no party-Gheens; Corey Perrillioux, no party-Raceland.

District 8: Alices P. Adams, no party-Cut Off; “D’Lynn” Boudreaux, R-Cut Off.

District 9: Will Lasseigne, no party-Galliano; Daniel Lorraine*, I-Golden Meadow.

Voters will also decide on the following four Constitutional Amendments:

Amendment 1: Offshore Goods Property Tax Exemption.

A vote for would create a property tax exemption for certain goods destined for the Outer Continental Shelf.

A vote against would continue such taxation unless ruled unconstitutional under the U.S. Commerce Clause.

Amendment 2: Adds Schools to the Education Excellence Fund.

A vote for would allow the Education Excellence Fund to finance three more schools and public TV.

A vote against would keep the Fund’s money limited to the current recipients.

Amendment 3: Board of Tax Appeals Jurisdiction.

A vote for would allow the Board of Tax Appeals to rule on constitutional questions.

A vote against would continue to assign constitutional questions in tax disputes only to the courts.

Amendment 4: New Orleans Tax Exemption for Affordable Housing.

A vote for would give New Orleans the ability to create a residential property tax exemption for affordable housing developments.

A vote against would keep the current property tax structure in New Orleans.

The Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana, known as PAR, has an online guide to these constitutional amendments.

The organization warns that this year’s amendment lineup will be “especially challenging” for voters because they are “among the most arcane proposals citizens have faced” on their ballots.

The PAR guide doesn’t offer recommendations about how to vote, but provides the arguments of supporters and opponents of each proposal and can be found on their website at

The polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

In races with three or more candidates, one will have to receive more than half the votes cast to win. Otherwise, the top two finishers will compete in a Nov. 16 runoff.