Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, July 21, 2019

Share This Article:

Qualifying ends with some school board, port commission seats going unopposed

Qualifying ends with some school board, port commission seats going unopposed

Three days of qualifying that ended Friday in advance of the Nov. 6 elections saw eight of the 15 school board seats in Lafourche having been filled after only one candidate signed to run for each of them.

Six of the 15 Lafourche Parish School Board members will serve another four-year term starting Jan. 1 after signing up unopposed. They are Brooke Huddleston, Marian Fertitta, Mary Breaud, Clyde “Joey” Duplantis III, Al Archer and Ray C. Bernard.

In addition, two newcomers will serve on the board after no one signed up to run against them: Dennis Guillot and Barry Plaisance of Lockport.

Five members chose not to seek re-election: Richmond Boyd Jr. of District 3, Gregg Stall of District 6, Gary Foret of District 7, Raymond Toups of District 8 and Dennis Jean Chiasson of District 10.

Four incumbents currently serving on the nine-member Greater Lafourche Port Commission board will also retain their seats after going unopposed. Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie, Rodney Gisclair, Curtis “Tompuss” Pierce, and Larry Griffin will serve another six years.

What follows is a list of candidates in all of the races that will appear on local ballots Nov. 6.

Incumbents are denoted with an asterisk (*), Republicans with an (R), Democrats with a (D), independents with an (I) and Libertarians with an (L).


U.S. representative, 1st District: Lee Ann Dugas, D-Kenner; Jim Francis, D-Covington; Frederick “Ferd” Jones, I-Hammond; Howard Kearney, L-Mandeville; Tammy Savoie, D-New Orleans; Steve Scalise,* R-Metairie. The district includes southern Terrebonne and Lafourche.

U.S. representative, 6th District: Justin Dewitt, D-Baton Rouge; Devin Lance Graham, I-Gonzales; Garret Graves,* R-Baton Rouge; Andie Saizan, D-Springfield. The district includes northern Terrebonne and Lafourche.

Louisiana secretary of state: Kyle Ardoin, R-Baton Rouge; Heather Cloud, R-Turkey Creek; Gwen Collins-Greenup, D-Clinton; A.G. Crowe, R-Pearl River; Rick Edmonds, R-Baton Rouge; Renee Fontenot Free, D-Baton Rouge; Thomas J. Kennedy III, R-Metairie; Matthew Paul “Matt” Moreau, I-Zachary; Julie Stokes, R-Metairie.

First Circuit Court of Appeal District 1, Division A judge: Ellen Doskey, I-Houma; Walter “Walt” Lanier III, R-Thibodaux.

Public Service Commission District 2: Craig Greene*, R-Baton Rouge.


All list Thibodaux addresses unless noted otherwise.

District 1: Christine “Tina” Naquin Babin (I); Donald Johnson* (D); Pamela McCann (I); Frank Pasqua (D).

District 2: Brooke Huddleston* (R).

District 3: Alfred “Al” Carter (I); Cheryl Thomas (D).

District 4: Marian Fertitta* (R).

District 5: Mary Breaud* (R).

District 6: Dennis Guillot (R).

District 7: Valerie Bourgeois, D-Raceland; Terrolyn “Terri” Mitchell, D-Raceland.

District 8: Lawrence Autin, D-Raceland; Tyler Dufrene, R-Raceland; Barry Uzee, R-Raceland.

District 9: Cally Hebert Bonvillain, I-Raceland; Julie Breaux,* D-Gheens; Randy Schouest, I-Raceland.

District 10: Barry Plaisance, R-Lockport.

District 11: Clyde “Joey” Duplantis III,* D-Houma.

District 12: Robby Gisclair, R-Cut Off; Ann Bouvier Sanamo,* I-Larose.

District 13: Al Archer,* D-Cut Off.

District 14: Ray C. Bernard,* D-Cut Off.

District 15: Calvin Duet,* D-Galliano; Troy Dufrene I-Golden Meadow.


Division A: Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie Jr.* (D).

Division B: Perry Comeaux (I), Perry Gisclair* (D).

Division C: Kris Gaudet* (R); Jimmy “T-Jim” Lafont (R).

Division D: Rodney Gisclair Sr.* (R).

Division E: Curtis “Tompuss” Pierce* (R).

Division F: Larry Griffin* (D).

Division G: Dickey “Radar” Cheramie (D); Bob Duet (I); John “T John” Melancon* (R).

Division H: Francis Bruce (R); Charles “Mike” Callais (I).

Division I: Kris Callais (R); Andrew A. Martin (D).

In races with three or more candidates, one will have to receive more than half the votes cast to win. Otherwise, the top two finishers will compete in a Dec. 8 runoff.