Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, June 23, 2019

Share This Article:

Plaisance honored with Name of Fame Award

Plaisance honored with Name of Fame Award

(Baton Rouge, La.)- The Louisiana Retired Teachers Association presented Lafourche Parish resident Beth Plaisance with the Name of Fame award at its fall meeting on October 23. The Name of Fame award is presented to an active LRTA member who is involved in the organization.

Plaisance received her bachelor’s degree from Nicholls State University. Upon graduation, she taught at St. Martinville Senior High School for eight years and later taught social studies at Raceland Junior High School.

After Lafourche Parish re-configured its school system, Plaisance went on to teach at Central Lafourche High School.

“The greatest reward is seeing a student succeed,” Plaisance said as she accepted her award at the convention banquet.

Upon retirement in 2003, Plaisance joined the Lafourche Retired Teachers Association, a unit of retired teachers that is associated with LRTA. She was nominated as unit president in 2012. Plaisance still serves as the current unit president.

Plaisance has served in additional leadership positions with LRTA. She was LRTA District II president and a member of the executive board. District II encompasses Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist and Terrebonne parishes. She served as District II president for two terms.

Plaisance is involved with other community organizations in Lafourche Parish. She is a member of the Lafourche-Terrebonne Master Gardeners organization. She volunteers at the Career Magnet Center’s Kitchen Garden and judges 4-H projects. She is also membership chair of the Lafourche Heritage Society.

Plaisance said she feels pride in representing Bayou Lafourche and acknowledged her predecessors in her acceptance speech, which included Louis Dill, Dr. Wade Ledet and Elicio Nicholas.