Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Sunday, August 25, 2019

Share This Article:

LSA Scholarship awarded to CLHS senior

LSA Scholarship awarded to CLHS senior

Central Lafourche High School senior Brooke Bergeron has been awarded the 2019 Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association Scholarship for Lafourche Parish.

Bergeron will receive the $500 scholarship to assist her with expenses as she plans to attend Nicholls State University and major in Chemistry (Pre-Med).

On her application, Bergeron indicated plans to pursue a career as a flight surgeon after completing medical school. She was notified of the scholarship award and presented with a certificate on Wednesday, May 8 at Central Lafourche High School’s senior awards night.

“Ms. Bergeron is involved in many school organizations and has already been recognized for her academic achievements in chemistry. I wish her the best of luck as she pursues her dream of a career as a flight surgeon,” said Sheriff Webre.

The Louisiana Sheriffs’ Educational Scholarship Program awards $500 to graduating high school students in parishes where the sheriffs are members of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Honorary Membership Program. Funding for this scholarship is made possible through the generous support of Lafourche Parish’s Honorary Members. The goal of the program is to provide assistance to worthy Louisiana students in furthering their education and training with resources made available through the program.

To be eligible for the LSA scholarship, each applicant must be a Lafourche Parish resident and a high school senior planning to enroll as a full-time student at Nicholls State University, L.E. Fletcher Technical Community College, or South Central Louisiana Technical Community College. The scholarship is awarded as a gift, not a loan, to defray the rising costs of tuition and related expenses in higher education. An independent board of review selects the winner of the scholarship.