Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Share This Article:

Local ballots now complete for fall election

Local ballots now complete for fall election

In addition to statewide political offices on the October 24 ballot, voters will also have to decide a number of regional and local contests for a variety of offices.

On the state legislative level, incumbent State Senator Gary Smith, Jr., a Democrat from Montz, was re-elected without opposition to another four-year term in office. He represents the 19th Senatorial District, which reaches into portions of the central part of the parish.

Incumbent 20th District Senator Norby Chabert, a Republican from Chauvin, has drawn two challengers, including former Lafourche Parish Councilman Mark Atzenhoffer from Bayou Blue and Mike Fesi, a Republican businessman from Houma.

On the state House side, State Representative from District 54, Jerry “Truck” Gisclair, a Democrat from Larose, was re-elected to another term without opposition.

In District 55, incumbent State Representative Jerome “Dee” Richard was also re-elected without opposition.
In the contest for the District 3 seat on the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Lottie Beebe, a Republican from Breaux Bridge, is being challenged by Sandy Holloway, a Republican from Thibodaux.

In parish contests, incumbent Parish President Charlotte Randolph, a Republican from Larose, is being challenged by four opponents including Councilman Aaron Caillouet, no party affiliation, from Thibodaux, Raceland businessman Jimmy Cantrelle, no party, Greater Lafourche Port Commission member and Galliano native Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie, Jr., Democrat, and Councilman Joe Fertitta, Republican from Thibodaux.

Sheriff Craig Webre was unopposed to another term in office. Assessor Wendy Thibodeaux was also re-elected without opposition to a full four-year term. John King was also re-elected to another term as parish coroner.

In the race to succeed retiring parish Clerk of Court Vernon Rodrigue, three candidates have signed up for the race. They include deputy clerk Vernell “Nell” Autin, a Democrat from Raceland, Kim Breaux, a Democrat from Thibodaux and Annette Fontana, no party listing, also from Thibodaux.

In the Lafourche Gazette distribution area, Council District 6 incumbent Lindel Toups, no party listing from Gheens, will be challenged by Corey Perrillioux, no party listing from Raceland.

Councilman Philip Gouaux, who represents Council District 7, has decided not to seek re-election. Three candidates have qualified to fill that post including Armand Autin, a Republican from Lockport, Ernest Boudreaux, Sr., a Democrat from Lockport and Ron Sapia, no party listing from Lockport.

Seeking re-election to the District 8 seat is incumbent Jerry Lafont, no party listing from Cut Off. He will be challenged by two opponents including Gary Champagne, a Democrat from Cut Off and Darryl Marlbrough, no party listing, also from Cut Off.

In the Council District 9 contest, incumbent Daniel Lorraine of Golden Meadow, no party, will be challenged by Will Lasseigne, a Republican from Galliano.

Early voting for the October 24th primary is Oct. 10 through Oct. 17.