Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Share This Article:

Gisclair sworn in as newest GLPC board member

Gisclair sworn in as newest GLPC board member

GALLIANO, LA – At a special election on April 9, voters in the 10th Ward of Lafourche Parish elected Rodney Gisclair, Sr. to fill Seat D on the Greater Lafourche Port Commission board.

Newly elected Port Commissioner Rodney Gisclair was sworn into office at a formal ceremony on May 11, immediately joining the nine-member board that has jurisdiction over Port Fourchon and the South Lafourche Airport.

Gisclair fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Donald Vizier, a seat to which local businessman Ted Savoie had been temporarily appointed until a special election could be held.

Board President Perry Gisclair is ready to work with the board's newest member.

"Rodney is going to be a great addition to our board," said Gisclair."He is recently retired from a decades-long career in the marine industry and has an inside perspective on how we can support our local businesses for the betterment of our port and our community."

Port Commissioners are elected for six-year terms. Rodney Gisclair will hold Seat D for the remainder of the board's 2013-2018 term.

The Greater Lafourche Port Commission is the only elected port commission in the state of Louisiana.