Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Share This Article:

Candidates qualify for November elections

Candidates qualify for November elections

Qualifying for a number of state and local offices in the upcoming November election concluded last week.

The headline race on the ballot will be the U.S. Senate currently held by Mary Landrieu, a Democrat from New Orleans. Eight opponents including U.S. Representative Bill Cassidy, a Republican from Baton Rouge and Tea Party favorite Rob Maness, a Republican from Madisonville, will challenge Landrieu in the fall.

Also challenging the incumbent are a slew of lesser-known candidates including Wayne Ables, Raymond Brown, Thomas Clements, Brannon McMorris, Vallian Senegal and William Waymire, Jr.

In the race for Louisiana’s First Congressional District, incumbent Steve Scalise is being challenged for another term by Lee Dugas, “Vinny” Mendosa and Jeff Sanford.

In the race for Louisiana’s Sixth Congressional District, which is an open seat due to Bill Cassidy seeking the U.S. Senate seat, thirteen candidates signed up for the race including former Governor Edwin Edwards.

Including Edwards, others seeking the seat are Robert Bell, Dan Claitor, Norman Clark, Rufus Craig, Jr., Paul Dietzel, II, Cassie Felder, Garrett Graves, Richard Lieberman, Craig Mc Culloch, Trey Thomas, Lenar Whitney, and Peter Williams.

All five judgeships in the 17th Judicial District are also up for election this fall. District A incumbent John LeBlanc, District C incumbent Walter Lanier, III and District E incumbent Hugh “Buddy” Larose were all re-elected without opposition.

Due to the retirements of Judge Jerome Barbera and Judge Bruce Simpson, two vacancies did occur in those judgeships. Christopher “Chub” Boudreaux of Thibodaux was elected without opposition to the Division D judgeship while three candidates signed up for the Division B race. They include John Erny, III of Raceland, Anthony “Tony” Lewis of Thibodaux and Steve Miller of Thibodaux.

The District Attorney for the 17th Judicial District, Camille “Cam” Morvant, was re-elected without opposition to another term in office.

An election for the office of Assessor will be held in November to fill the remainder of the term formerly held by Mike Martin, who passed away earlier this year. Seeking the office are interim Assessor, Wendy Thibodeaux, Jonathan Cheramie, and Jerome “Dee” Richard.

All 15 seats on the Lafourche Parish School Board were also up for consideration in November with some members being re-elected without opposition.

Local races include the District 7 race where Gary Foret and Myra Zeringue Luft are seeking the post. In District 15, Calvin Duet and Lawrence Mounic will square off for that position.

Ray Bernard of Galliano was elected to the District 14 seat and Ronald Pere, Julie Breaux, Dennis “Jean” Chiasson, Clyde “Joey” Duplantis, III, Ann Sanamo and Al Archer were all elected without opposition to their respective seats.

In the race for Justice of the Peace, 2nd Court, Lillie Foret, Mary Foret and Carolyn Smith are seeking the post while in the 3rd Court, Troy Templet will challenge Bennett Arceneaux. In the 4th Court, Christopher Schwertz will challenge Lois Gautreaux.

Constable for the 3rd Justice of the Peace Court will see a race between Marvin Allemand and Johnny Detillier, while the 4th District will see a race between Carl Doucet and Martin Wade.

Dwain LeBoeuf was elected without opposition to the 2nd District Constable slot.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 4, with early voting is set for October 21 thru October 28.