Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Share This Article:

A few surprises cap off local election sign-ups

A few surprises cap off local election sign-ups

As registration for the Oct. 12 election ended Thursday, a couple of surprises were added to the list of local candidates.

In an unexpected move, Jerry “Truck” Gisclair, now representing District 54 in the state House of Representatives, signed up to run for state Senate in District 20, which includes parts of Terrebonne and Lafourche parishes.

Gisclair, D-Larose, is term-limited in the House after serving three consecutive four-year terms; he had not announced plans to seek another elected office. Gisclair faces four opponents for the Senate seat: Brenda Leroux Babin, Damon Baldone, Mike Fesi and Shane Swan.

Several candidates were elected after they signed up without opposition. They include state Senate District 21 incumbent Sen. Bret Allain, state House District 52 incumbent Rep. Jerome Zeringue, state House District 53 incumbent Rep. Tanner Magee, Lafourche Parish District 1 Justice of the Peace candidate Desirea Rodrigue and Lafourche Council incumbents Michael Gros, Bo Melvin and Armand “Noonie” Autin.

The incumbent clerks of court, assessors and coroners in both parishes were also unopposed.

Below is a rundown of all local candidates who signed up during three days of qualifying that ended Thursday. The primary election is scheduled for Oct. 12. In races with three or more candidates, one will have to receive more than half the votes cast to win. Otherwise, the top two finishers will compete in a Nov. 16 runoff.

Incumbents are denoted with an asterisk (*), Republicans with an (R), Democrats with a (D), Independents with an (I) and Libertarians with an (L).


All list Baton Rouge addresses unless noted otherwise.

Governor: Ralph Abraham (R); Oscar “Omar” Dantzler, D-Hammond; Patrick J. Doguet, R-Rayne; John Bel Edwards* (D); Gary Landrieu, I-Metairie; Patrick “Live Wire” Landry, R-New Orleans; Manuel Russell Leach, R-Natchitoches; M.V. “Vinny” Mendoza, D-Ponchatoula; Eddie Rispone (R).

Lieutenant Governor: Willie Jones, D-New Orleans; William “Billy” Nungesser*, R-Belle Chase; Rao. M. Uppu, D-Prairieville.

Secretary of State: Kyle Ardoin* (R); “Gwen” Collins-Greenup, D-Clinton; Thomas J. Kennedy III, R-Metairie; Amanda “Jennings” Smith, R-Bastrop.

Attorney General: Ike Jackson Jr., D-Plaquemine; Jeff Landry*, R-Broussard.

Treasurer: Derrick Edwards, D-Harvey; Teresa Kenny, no party-New Orleans; John M. Schroder* (R).

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry: Marguerite Green, D-New Orleans; Charlie Greer, D-Natchez; Michael G. “Mike” Strain*, R-Covington; Peter Williams (D); Bradley Zaunbrecher, R-Egan.

Commissioner of Insurance: James J. “Jim” Donelon*, R-Metairie; “Tim” Temple (R).

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education District 3: “Sandy” LeBlanc Holloway*, R-Thibodaux; Janice Perea, R-Houma.

State Senate District 2: Troy E. Brown, D-Paincourtville; Ed Price*, D-Gonzales.

State Senate District 19: Gary L. Smith Jr.*, D-Montz.

State Senate District 20: Brenda Leroux Babin, D-Houma; Damon J. Baldone, R-Houma; Michael “Big Mike” Fesi, R-Houma; Jerry “Truck” Gisclair, D-Larose; Shane Swan, R-Houma.

State Senate District 21: Bret Allain II*, R-Jeanerette.

State Representative District 51: Beryl Amedee*, R-Gray; Clayton Voisin, R-Houma.

State Representative District 52: Jerome “Zee” Zeringue*, R-Houma.

State Representative District 53: Tanner Magee*, R-Houma.

State Representative District 54: Reggie P. Bagala, R-Lockport; Ernest Boudreaux, R-Lockport; Donny Lerille, R-Larose.

State Representative District 55: Bryan Fontenot, R-Thibodaux; Donovan Fremin, R-Thibodaux.


All list Thibodaux addresses unless noted otherwise.

District Judge 17th Judicial District Court, Division C: Marla Abel (R); Rene C. Gautreaux (I); Todd Joffrion (R).

Sheriff: Craig Jaccuzzo, no party-Houma; Thomas Rodrigue, R-Cut Off; Craig Webre* (R).

Clerk of Court: Annette Fontana* (no party).

Assessor: Wendy Thibodeaux* (no party).

Coroner: John King*, no party-Gheens.

Justice of the Peace District 1: Desirea Rodrigue (D).

Parish President: Archie Chaisson III, R-Lockport; Joseph “Joe” Fertitta (R); Luci Sposito (R).


District 1: Jerry Jones* (D); Burnell Tolbert (D); Jimmie Wilson (no party); Earl Woods Jr. (D).

District 2: William “T-Boo” Adams (R); Niles Riche (R).

District 3: Michael T. Gros* (R).

District 4: Aaron “Bo” Melvin* (R).

District 5: Albert Louis Martin Jr., no party-Houma; James “Jim” Wendell, no party-Houma.

District 6: Spence Cressionie, no party-Gheens; Corey Perrillioux, no party-Raceland.

District 7: Armand “Noonie” Autin*, R-Lockport.

District 8: Alices P. Adams, no party-Cut Off; “D’Lynn” Boudreaux, R-Cut Off.

District 9: Will Lasseigne, no party-Galliano; Daniel Lorraine*, I-Golden Meadow.