Your Community Newspaper - Larose, LA

Serving Raceland, Gheens, Lockport, Valentine, Larose, Cut Off, Galliano, Golden Meadow, Leeville, & Grand Isle

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Share This Article:

16 Lafourche Parish Assistant District Attorney’s Sworn In

16 Lafourche Parish Assistant District Attorney’s Sworn In

Sixteen Assistant District Attorneys were sworn in to six-year terms as prosecutors in Lafourche Parish Friday morning.

The Hon. Steven M. Miller, a former prosecutor who was recently elected to the bench in Lafourche, administered the oath of office to many of his former colleagues, as well as two new prosecutors.

“We have had a few changes because of the judicial elections last year,” said District Attorney Camille A. Morvant, II. “But when I look on the faces here in the courthouse today, most of them were here when we took our first oaths as prosecutors twelve years ago.

“I think that’s noteworthy because of the importance of continuity to the mission of the District Attorney’s Office.

We have accomplished a great deal during my first two terms in office, but we still have a strong vision for the future. With the experience we have in this office, I’m confident we will continue to make Lafourche Parish a better and safer place to live.”

Two new prosecutors were appointed to fill vacancies created in the wake of Miller’s elevation to the bench.

Jeray Jarreau has been assigned to handle juvenile matters in district court, while Melody Bridgewater will assist with domestic violence matters as well as juvenile prosecutions in Thibodaux City Court. Morvant said he expects the transition to be seamless.

“The wealth of experience we have in this office is a tremendous resource for our new prosecutors, Morvant said.

“And even though we’ve had to move some of our felony prosecutors around, everyone was ready to hit the ground running when the new year began.”

Pictured are, bottom row, left to right: Camille A. Morvant II, Kristine Russell, Annette Fontana, Jennifer Richard, Stephen E. Caillouet, Martin Caillouet, Lisa Pinho, Stephen “Ben” Caillouet; top row, left to right: Joseph Soignet, Rene’ Gautreaux, Frank Rathle, Karen Martin, Diana Sanders, Melody Bridgewater, Jeray Jarreau, Lisa Orgeron and Heather Hendrix. Not pictured is Louis Thad Toups.